“Third-party risk management software” covers four different kinds of product that get compared as if they were one. This guide groups thirteen tools by what each was actually built to do (enterprise TPRM platforms, security-ratings services, compliance-automation suites with a vendor module, contract-and-vendor lifecycle tools, and SMB tools with a public price), so you can shortlist against your situation rather than someone else’s. Vendorapp is one of the thirteen; we say so where it appears.
By Stephen Dale·Last updated
How to read this
Most roundups in this category are written by an enterprise vendor and rank enterprise vendors. That is fine if you are a bank with a procurement team. If you are a 30-to-300-person company that has just been asked for a vendor register by an auditor, a bank or an enterprise prospect, the list you actually need looks different, and the first decision is not which tool, but which category.
Workflow engines for programmes with thousands of third parties and a team to run them. Assessment exchanges, managed services, analyst-rated. Quote-only pricing and an implementation project.
Outside-in, continuous scoring of a vendor’s external security posture, like a credit score for cyber. Excellent monitoring signal; not a register, a contract store or an audit trail.
SOC 2 / ISO 27001 automation platforms that include vendor management because the frameworks require it. Strong if you already own one; vendor depth varies and often costs extra.
Contract-first systems that add risk screening. The right buy when the pain is renewals, spend and obligations as much as security.
Purpose-built for smaller teams: fast to set up, priced on a page, and designed to produce audit evidence without a GRC function. This is where Vendorapp sits.
Every product fact below comes from the vendor’s own website, pricing page or press release, checked on 8 September 2026. We do not quote third-party price estimates or review-site scores, and nobody paid to be here.
At a glance
| Tool | Category | Built for | Published pricing | Free tier | Fourth-party visibility |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ProcessUnity | A · Enterprise TPRM | Large programmes; financial services | Quote only | No | Via Global Risk Exchange assessments |
| Mitratech Prevalent | A · Enterprise TPRM | Regulated organisations wanting software plus managed services | Quote only | No | Assessment-driven |
| OneTrust | A · Enterprise TPRM | Enterprises standardising privacy, security and third-party risk on one platform | Quote only | No | Assessment-driven |
| SecurityScorecard | B · Ratings | Large vendor portfolios wanting an A–F score | Quote only | Self-rating account | Automated third- and fourth-party identification (Premium) |
| Bitsight | B · Ratings | Enterprises standardising on quantified ratings | Quote only | No | Daily ratings including fourth parties |
| Black Kite | B · Ratings | Financial risk quantification of cyber exposure | Quote only | No | Nth-party visibility |
| Vanta | C · Compliance suite | Startups to enterprise running SOC 2 / ISO 27001 in Vanta | Quote only | No | Not a headline feature |
| Drata | C · Compliance suite | Compliance-automation buyers wanting agentic vendor reviews | Quote only | No | Not a headline feature |
| Secureframe | C · Compliance suite | SaaS startups on SOC 2; CMMC / FedRAMP | Quote only | No | Not a headline feature |
| Gatekeeper | D · Lifecycle / CLM | Finance, procurement and legal teams; contract-first | Quote only | No | Not a headline feature |
| Venminder (Ncontracts) | D · Lifecycle | US banks and credit unions; outsourced assessments | Quote only | No | Assessment-driven |
| UpGuard | E · SMB, published price | Security teams wanting ratings plus assessments with a public rate card | From $1,750 per month | Trial | Fourth-party monitoring (Corporate tier) |
| Vendorapp (ours) | E · SMB, published price | Startups and SMEs selling into regulated buyers | $0, $149, $259 or $599 per month | Free forever plan | Subprocessor register from vendors’ own disclosures (Expert) |
“Published pricing” means a price on the vendor’s own pricing page. “Fourth-party visibility” records what the vendor itself says about seeing your vendors’ suppliers; “assessment-driven” means it depends on what the vendor discloses in a questionnaire rather than on discovery.
How we chose
The category question. A tool is judged against the job its own site says it does, not against a category it never claimed.
Minutes, days or an implementation project. This is the single biggest difference between the SMB and enterprise ends of the list.
Scheduled re-assessment, alerts on sanctions, breach and rating changes: the thing every framework now asks for evidence of.
Renewal dates, DPAs, breach-notification windows and exit terms are vendor-risk data. Tools that leave them in a separate CLM leave a gap.
Fourth-party or subprocessor visibility, and whether it comes from discovery or only from what the vendor writes in a questionnaire.
Exportable register, assessment history, screening records: the artefacts a SOC 2, ISO 27001, NIS2 or DORA reviewer asks for.
Pricing transparency is a proxy for how the vendor expects to sell to you: self-serve or through a sales cycle.
Analyst placements from the 2026 Forrester Wave and the first Gartner Magic Quadrant for TPRM tools, where they exist. Reported, not weighted.
Category A
The tools that dominate analyst reports and, not coincidentally, most vendor-written roundups. They are excellent at what they do, which is orchestrating assessments across thousands of third parties with a dedicated team, and they are the wrong first purchase for almost everyone below a few hundred vendors.
Concord, Massachusetts. A configurable TPRM workflow platform named a Leader in the Forrester Wave for Third-Party Risk Management Platforms, Q1 2026. Its distinguishing asset is the Global Risk Exchange (the former CyberGRX, merged in July 2023), a library of hundreds of thousands of third-party profiles and tens of thousands of attested assessments that lets you reuse a vendor’s existing assessment instead of sending another questionnaire. AI features (Evidence Evaluator, Assessment Autofill) target the reviewing bottleneck.
Prevalent was acquired by Mitratech in October 2024 and now sits inside a broader risk and legal-operations portfolio. Its model is hybrid: a full-lifecycle platform (sourcing, intake, inherent and residual scoring, contract management, threat monitoring across adverse media and sanctions sources) plus managed services that will run the assessments for you. That combination suits regulated organisations with more vendors than analysts.
Atlanta, founded 2016. OneTrust’s third-party risk module lives inside its privacy, security and governance platform, and was named a Leader in Gartner’s first Magic Quadrant for Third-Party Risk Management Tools for Assurance Leaders (April 2026). Its Third-Party Risk Exchange offers pre-completed assessments and research on tens of thousands of vendors. The strongest case for it is when you are already standardising privacy and consent management on OneTrust and want third-party risk on the same platform.
Category B
Ratings services watch a vendor from the outside (exposed services, patching cadence, leaked credentials, DNS and email hygiene) and reduce it to a score that updates daily. That makes them the best continuous-monitoring signal on this list and, on their own, an incomplete vendor programme: no register of what each vendor can access, no contracts, no offboarding record. Most organisations that buy one pair it with a system of record, which is also how they reach the fourth-party layer.
New York, founded 2013. The A-to-F letter grade is the format executives recognise, and SecurityScorecard is the one ratings vendor on this list with a genuinely free tier: a Free Forever account rates your own domain, lets you respond to questionnaires and self-monitor. Paid Core, Premium and Elite tiers add portfolio monitoring; automated third- and fourth-party identification arrives at Premium. Prices are not disclosed.
Boston, founded 2011, and the reference point for quantified security ratings. Bitsight cites more than 3,500 organisations using its ratings, with daily monitoring that extends to fourth parties. Its vendor-risk product adds AI-assisted assessments mapped to NIST CSF 2.0, ISO 27001 and SIG Lite, and it positions explicitly for DORA and NIS2 buyers. Quote-only.
Boston, founded 2016. Black Kite’s difference is quantification: an Open FAIR model that turns a vendor’s cyber posture into a financial exposure figure, a ransomware susceptibility index, and nth-party visibility across the companies it monitors. If the question your board asks is “what would this vendor cost us if it were breached?”, Black Kite is built to answer it. Pricing is not disclosed.
Category C
If you are pursuing SOC 2 or ISO 27001 you probably already own one of these. They include vendor management because CC9.2 and Annex A 5.19–5.22 require it, and they are the tools most startup searches surface first. The honest summary: the vendor module satisfies the control; how far it goes beyond that, into sanctions screening, contract terms, scheduled re-screening, fourth parties, varies by vendor and by plan, and the most useful parts are frequently add-ons. None of the three publishes prices.
San Francisco, founded 2018, and the name that appears in almost every “vendor risk for startups” search. Vanta’s vendor-risk product discovers vendors automatically (including shadow IT and AI tools), scores inherent risk, runs AI security reviews against trust centres, SOC 2 reports and DPAs, and monitors for breaches. On its pricing page, continuous monitoring, remediation planning, the API and risk-register integration are listed as add-ons to the four core plans.
San Diego, founded 2020. Drata’s third-party risk module leans into agentic review: AI-generated assessment criteria, one-click vendor assessments that collect documents from vendor trust centres, AI summaries of SOC reports and questionnaires, a risk register and executive reporting. Vendor sources can sync from procurement and CLM systems. Pricing is by demo.
San Francisco, founded 2020. Secureframe’s vendor risk management (inventory, document management, custom risk scoring, automated vendor detection, a vendor portal for questionnaires and AI answer generation) is included in its Complete and Defense tiers, which is worth knowing before you assume it comes with the entry plan. Its Defense tier is the reason to shortlist it for CMMC or FedRAMP work.
Category D
When the problem is renewals, obligations and spend as much as security, a contract-first system is the right shape. The trade-off is depth on the risk side: screening and monitoring are present but rarely the centre of gravity. The vendor contract management guide covers what the contract side of a vendor programme needs to do regardless of tool.
UK-founded, London-based. Gatekeeper unifies contract lifecycle management, vendor management and spend in one platform, with e-signature, financial, cyber and sanctions screening of vendors, continuous monitoring, and, on its enterprise tiers, risk registers and balanced scorecards. Every tier includes unlimited users and contracts; tiers are sized by vendor count (Pro up to 250, Enterprise up to 750, Enterprise Plus beyond). Prices are not shown; it holds ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type 2 and describes itself as DORA-ready.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky, and part of Ncontracts since September 2024. Venminder is built for regulated US financial institutions (banks, credit unions, broker-dealers) with lifecycle workspaces from onboarding to offboarding, contract management, and a distinctive outsourced service (Vendiligence) that performs control assessments and document collection on your behalf. Professional and Enterprise packages with à-la-carte services; no published prices.
Category E
Two tools on this list will tell you what they cost before you talk to anyone. That is not a small thing: it is the difference between starting this afternoon and starting after a procurement cycle. They are built differently and for different buyers, and one of them is ours.
Australian-founded in 2012, with offices in Hobart, Sydney and Mountain View. UpGuard combines a security-ratings engine with assessment workflows and daily vendor rescans, and it is the only vendor in the enterprise-grade set with a public rate card: Vendor Risk Standard is $1,750 per month billed annually for 50 vendors and up to six users, with Professional, Corporate (which adds fourth-party monitoring) and Enterprise tiers above it by quote. It is the right pick for a security team that wants ratings and questionnaires in one place and can budget accordingly.
London-based, built for startups and SMEs that need to evidence a vendor programme to an auditor, a bank or an enterprise buyer without hiring a risk function. Search 22 million vendors by name or URL and every vendor is screened at onboarding (sanctions across OFAC, UN, EU, UK OFSI and Australian DFAT, an exposure risk rating and an ESG rating), then re-screened automatically on a cadence set by criticality. Contracts are uploaded and their terms extracted (expiry, notice period, breach-notification window, DPA, exit terms) with renewal reminders. A Readiness hub scores the programme against 48 NIS2 and DORA controls and exports the evidence pack. On the Expert plan, screening also reads each vendor’s published subprocessor list to build a fourth-party register from primary sources. Plans are on the pricing page: Basic free forever, Startup $149, Advanced $259 and Expert $599 per month.
Which one for you
| Your situation | Start with | Also consider |
|---|---|---|
| Startup or SME asked for a vendor register by an auditor, bank or enterprise prospect | Vendorapp | UpGuard if you also want an outside-in rating and have the budget |
| Already on Vanta, Drata or Secureframe and the vendor control is flagged incomplete | Your suite’s vendor module for the control; a system of record for the programme | Vendorapp exports slot into the evidence package |
| Contracts, renewals and spend are the pain, security is secondary | Gatekeeper | Vendorapp for contract terms plus screening at SMB scale |
| Board wants a score for every vendor | SecurityScorecard (free self-rating first) or Bitsight | Black Kite for financial quantification |
| Regulated financial institution with hundreds of critical third parties | ProcessUnity or Mitratech Prevalent | Venminder in US banking; OneTrust if privacy lives there too |
| DORA or NIS2 programme with a fourth-party question to answer | A system of record that reads subprocessor disclosures | A ratings service for the outside-in view |
Pricing
Of the thirteen tools here, two publish a price. UpGuard starts at $1,750 per month billed annually for 50 vendors. Vendorapp’s plans are free, $149, $259 and $599 per month. SecurityScorecard offers a free self-rating account with paid portfolio tiers by quote. Every other vendor prices by quote, and the enterprise platforms typically add implementation or managed services on top of the licence. We have deliberately not repeated the third-party price estimates that circulate for the quote-only tools: they are unverifiable, and often wrong.
Common questions
Software that maintains a register of the external companies your organisation depends on, assesses the risk each presents (security, sanctions, financial, ESG, data exposure), stores the contracts that govern them, monitors for changes over time, and produces the evidence that auditors and regulators ask for. The category ranges from enterprise workflow platforms to SMB tools, and from outside-in ratings services to contract-first systems, which is why this guide groups tools by category before comparing them.
In practice the terms are used interchangeably. Strictly, “third party” is broader (it includes partners, resellers and contractors as well as suppliers), while “vendor” refers to the companies you buy from. Enterprise platforms tend to say TPRM; SMB tools and compliance suites tend to say vendor risk. The capabilities you should look for are the same either way.
Not necessarily. Their vendor modules satisfy the SOC 2 and ISO 27001 vendor controls, and if that is the whole requirement, use what you have. Teams add a dedicated system of record when they need what the module does not do or charges extra for (sanctions screening, contract terms and renewal alerts, scheduled re-screening with evidence, a NIS2 or DORA readiness view, or fourth-party visibility) and then link its exports into the compliance platform as evidence.
Two of the thirteen tools here publish prices: UpGuard from $1,750 a month for 50 vendors, and Vendorapp from free to $599 a month. Every other tool is quote-only; enterprise platforms usually add implementation or managed services. Treat unpublished pricing as a signal about the sales process as much as the number.
One that gets you to an assessed, classified vendor register in a day rather than a quarter, produces the evidence your auditor or bank will ask for, and does not require a procurement cycle to start. That points at Category E: Vendorapp if you want the register, screening, contracts and readiness scoring in one system with a free tier; UpGuard if you specifically want outside-in security ratings and can budget for its entry price. If you already own a compliance suite, start with its vendor module and add a system of record when you hit its limits.
At least annually for every vendor and more often for critical ones (quarterly is common), plus a re-assessment whenever access scope, ownership or incident history changes. SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 surveillance audits, NIS2 and DORA all expect evidence that this actually happened during the period, not a policy stating that it should. Tools that schedule re-screening by criticality and timestamp each run make that evidence automatic.
Keep reading
Build a classified vendor register, screen every vendor against five sanctions lists, and export audit-ready evidence. Free to start, no sales call required.
Start free — no card neededWe use cookies to analyze usage and enhance site navigation to give you the best experience.